Late Season Captains Report

6th December 2018

As the competitive golf season drew to a close,the Course continued to play well with the Autumn conditions proving a great bonus,and the level of participation fertile.
Christine Frankton was the Ladies’ Medal winner net 78 on October 10th. A week later Sarah Bevan was victorious with 34 points and Diane Gough was the new holder of the Captain’s Cup with 36 points. The rearranged Summer Stableford on the last day of October yielded a winner in Andrea Dudden on 28 points. Pat Roblin with 24 points claimed Ladies Winter Salver 1.The first Turkey Trot of the year was won by Anita Thomas with 32 points on 17th November.
The 4BBB Turkey Trot on the 14th October produced an excellent winning card of 48 points by Josh Davies and Callum MacDougall. Paul Thomas scored an excellent net 66 to win the Centenary Trophy and also recorded the lowest gross of 71.
The experimental Texas Scramble Trot had a male entry of 32 players and a winning team of Mike Thomas,Jason Edwards,Gary Meskimmon and Richard Mee with a score of 53.1.
The Senior Member & Guest 4BBB on the 26th October was won by David Colston and Gary Jelley with 41 points .Another net 66 was more than enough for Richard Davies to win the October Monthly Medal. The counting Senior Stableford on the 1st November was won by Steve Lewis with 42 points.The next Turkey Trot established Paul Thomas and Tim Green winners with a convincing 47 points. A repeat Texas Scramble on the 11th November was won by a team of Alan Spencer,Alan Watkins,Simon Brady and Justin Davies with a score of 59.1.The Chapman Foursome format on the 18th November gave us  an excellent winning score of 48 points from Richard Scott and David Griggs with 48 points.
During the year the Ladies’ Section had an Away Weekend at Bryn Meadows in early June.The Seniors visited Bowood in mid August and the Rabbits had their trip to Mendip Springs in late September.
The Club continues to host varied events a lot of it through the hard work of the Entertainment Committee and the “In House” Catering from Phillipe, Andy and many Ladies is getting favourable responses.
There was a good turnout for Presentation Evening on Saturday 17th November at the Clubhouse.Steve Allen the Club Captain would like to thank Prakash Kanse,Simon Brady for their extra efforts in the preparation and execution of the event,Val Griggs,Diane Gough and Christine Frankton for their cameo in the middle of proceedings, Also Steve Lewis for his photographic skills and Simon Gough for public address.
Congratulations to all Prize Winners,and especially Robin Ellis our new Jubilee Cup Holder and serial competition winner, Jason Edwards and our Most Improved and arguably Best Golfer Abe Forsyth with a handicap shift from 2.6 to +0.3.
The Senior Team was capably led by Steve Lewis and completed 20 matches winning 12,losing 6 and drawing 2.
The Rabbits and Ladies have now finished their seasons.
Thanks again to all Section Heads and Team Members for their commitment during the Season. Best wishes to all potential successors.
The Club AGM was held on Friday 23rd November at 7.00pm in the Lounge.
The New Management Committee of Elspeth Owen, Judith Phillips, Alex Pile and Rhodri Jones were endorsed permanently for a year. A collective current and future appraisal was given, whilst the Club Captain Steve Allen a last vestige of the pre September regime gave a retrospective that also embraced some of the remit of the ex Chairman Steve Blowes.All Officers ,Board Members and Volunteers were thanked for their efforts during the Year and Best Wishes to those taking their place,whose names are identified as well as the New Captain and Vice Captain.
Thanks Everyone for your support. Before signing off I  hope you all have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Steve Allen Club Captain 2018.

Posted in General